“Safe & Sound” | Day 26

Day 26Every minute of every hour children are welcomed into this world. The responsibility of a parent has and always will be to keep your children safe and sound. I often wonder what it’s like to be a parent. What is it like to have someone else depend on you to keep them safe and sound?

With Halloween right around the corner, children from all over have communicated in one way or another what they want to be. Some will be superheros who fight off the monsters under their beds; while others will be fairy princesses setting out to meet their prince charming. In a child’s eyes, superheros keep them safe and sound. In a child’s eyes, prince charming keeps them safe and sound. At this point, costumes are prepped and parents are praying to have favorable conditions for trick or treating.

I sometimes contemplate how I will explain Halloween to my future children. As a child growing up, Halloween was never a favorite but then I married a man whose favorite holiday is Halloween.

I imagine we will meet somewhere in the middle between having the most Halloween decorations on the street and having none at all. And when I look at Halloween as a day where children can take themselves to a place they want to be – a place that is safe and sound;  I understand why it’s my husband’s favorite holiday! And maybe, just maybe, one day it will become mine!

Save and Sound

Leave a comment